/ Entertainment
Media Jungle
recommended reading and educational resources for those interested in ecology, places of power and the natural world.

Please Note: Some of the books listed below are no longer in print. This section will be updated in the near future. Please email us if you know of any worthy additions - thanks.

Media Jungle - BOOKS and CD ROM Menu

       CD ROM - Reference       
        BOOKS and CD ROM - Fiction        



Animal Rights / Welfare

Rattling the Cage
Toward Legal Rights for animals

(02 - 2000)

Steven M. Wise, Jane Goodall


Hardcover - 362 pages 1st edition (Feb 2000) Perseus Books
ISBN: 0738200654
Dimensions (in inches): 1.29 x 9.56 x 6.44

Synopsis (adapted): Steven Wise has spent his legal career in courts across the United States, championing the interests of many animal species. In Rattling the Cage, Wise (a teacher of Animal Rights Law at several academic institutions, including Harvard Law School), presents a thorough survey of the legal, philosophical, and religious origins of humankind's inhumanity toward citizens of the animal kingdom.







ECO-Reference - General

From Naked Ape
to Super Species

A Personal Perspective on Humanity and the Global Ecocrisis (1999)

David Suzuki, Holly Dressel

ISBN: 0773731946
Stoddart Pub. - Hardcover, 300 pages, November 1999

The Canadian genetic scientist Dr David Suzuki took up the causes of Ecology and Environmental Conservation over 30 years ago. His insights into our current global problems are both comprehensive and profound.

For a complete list of Dr Suzuki's Books & tapes (radio interviews etc.) visit:


Earth in the Balance:
Ecology and
the Human Spirit


Author: Al Gore


Paperback - 432 pages
Reprint edition (January 1993) Plume
ISBN: 0452269350
Dimensions (in inches): 0.97 x 7.99 x 5.31
Other Editions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette

( A passionate defender of the environment for more than 20 years, Senator Al Gore from Tennessee is now convinced that the engines of human civilization have brought us to the brink of catastrophe. In this brave work, he argues that only a radical rethinking of our relationship with nature can save the earth for future generations.


Cover Image
Not Currently
The Sky's the Limit
A Defense of the Earth


Author: John Nichols

Hardcover - Sept. 1990 W.W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393028658
Dimensions (in inches): 0.88 x 9.53 x 6.49
Paperback not available, publisher out of stock.

Synopsis ( In the tradition of Thoreau, Edward Abbey, and Annie Dillard, The Sky's the Limit is an environmental manifesto, with 68 lyrical photographs of an untouched mesa near the author's home in Taos, New Mexico. A provocative essary on the fate of our planet complements these full-color images



Gaia : An Atlas of Planet Management

Author: Dr. Norman Myers
Editor: Nancy J. Myers

Paperback - 272 pages Rev & updatd edition (January 1, 1993) Anchor Books/Doubleday
ISBN: 0385426267
Dimensions (in inches): 0.71 x 11.33 x 8.42

Synopsis From the Publisher: For the first time since its publication in l984, a completely updated and revised edition of this best-selling atlas which brings it into the 1990s, incorporating the new events, issues, and statistics of the past decade.



Greenhouse - Global Warming

The 200-Year Story of Global Warming


Author: Gale E. Christianson

Hardcover - 288 pages Walker & Co
ISBN: 0802713467
Dimensions (in inches): 1.20 x 9.46 x 5.87

Synopsis ( In this illuminating history of global warming, a scientific idea that fills today's headlines, Christianson blends the research of a scholar with a novelist's storytelling skills, unfolding his epic through a series of elegantly linked stories.



Laboratory Earth

Author: Steven H. Schneider


Paperback - 192 pages (Nov 1998) Basic Books
ISBN: 0465072801
Dimensions (in inches): 0.55 x 8.01 x 5.30

( Stephen H. Schneider is a climatologist at Stanford and author and editor of several books on the greenhouse effect His insights into the impact of industrial emissions on climate change influence policy makers and environmental activists alike. In Laboratory Earth, Schneider has digested the complex and quantitative details of global warming into an accessible overview of the scientific situation that never slides into simplification. The details of global warming can at times seem overwhelming, but Schneider's slim volume admirably attempts to tell this story with the sense of importance and immediacy he clearly believes it deserves.


The Heat Is on:
The Climate Crisis,
the Cover-Up,
the Prescription


Author: Ross Gelbspan

Paperback - 288 pages Updated edition (September 1998) Perseus Books
ISBN: 0738200255
Dimensions (in inches): 0.93 x 8.27 x 5.40

Synopsis (
Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Ross Gelbspan exposes the machinations of oil and coal companies and conservative politicians to undermine the public confidence in science and thereby defer action against global warming. This riveting expose is a spirited call to action against the corporate disinformation campaign that threatens us all.




Power Places - Destinations


Author: Michael Palin
Photographer: Basil Pao


Hardcover: 288 pages
Publisher: Weidenfeld Nicolson Illustrated
ISBN: 0297843710

Synopsis (Excerpt from In this his most challenging journey, Michael Palin tackles the Himalaya, the greatest mountain range on earth. In a journey rarely, if ever, attempted before, in 6 months of hard travelling Palin takes on the full length of the Himalaya including the Khyber Pass, the hidden valleys of the Hindu Kush, ancient cities like Peshawar and Lahore, the mighty peaks of K2, Annapurna and Everest, the bleak and barren plateau of Tibet, the gorges of the Yangtze, the tribal lands of the Indo-Burmese border and the vast Brahmaputra delta in Bangladesh. Facing altitudes as high as 17,500 feet as well as some of the world's deepest gorges, Palin also passed through political flashpoints like Pakistan's remote north-west frontier, terrorist-torn Kashmir and the mountains of Nagaland, only recently open to visitors. They had a brush with the Maoists while filming in Nepal and advice from the Dalai Lama before crossing into Tibet. This book, compiled from his diaries, records the pleasure and pain of an extraordinary journey.


A companion DVD is also available.

Cover Image
Not Currently
Walking the Yukon:
A Solo Trek Through the Land of Beyond


Author: Chris Townsend


Paperback (September 1993) Tab Books
ISBN: 0877424209
Dimensions (in inches): 0.61 x 8.97 x 5.99

Synopsis ( Leaving Skagway, Alaska, in June 1990, Townsend followed the footsteps of the Klondike goldrushers across the Yukon's rugged mountains, wild rivers, and muskeg swamps. Focusing on the Yukon's history, geology, and wildlife, Townsend finds reminders of the gaunt men chronicled by Robert Service almost a century ago. 15 illustrations.








All web site assets are